The 2009 Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing Nominees Announced

Hanley Wood Business Media and its EcoHome magazine, in partnership with The Hanley Foundation, announce the official nominees for The 2009 Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing. The award honors individuals who have made extraordinary, lasting, and far-reaching contributions to the advancement of sustainable housing in the United States. The award winner will receive $50,000--the largest award in the industry recognizing contributions to environmental building.

The Hanley Award
"These nominees have shaped every aspect of today's advances in green building and sustainability," says EcoHome editor in chief Rick Schwolsky. "All the things we point to as best practices are derived from their contributions. The judges really have their work cut out for them."

Eighteen nominees were selected by a diverse committee of industry leaders, based on their deep, long-standing, and influential commitments to sustainability, and significant and lasting contributions to the widespread implementation of environmental building concepts, techniques, and innovations in advancing sustainable housing in the United States. The 2009 nominees include pioneering home builders, architects, developers, researchers, building scientists, policy advisers, non-profit and affordable housing innovators, educators, and renowned green building authors.

The 2009 Hanley Award Official Nominees:

Matt Belcher, President
Belcher Homes

Dennis Creech, Executive Director
Southface Energy Institute

Plinky Fisk / Gail Vittori,
Co-Directors - Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems

Richard Halpin, Founder/CEO
American YouthWorks

Robert Hammon, Ph.D., Principal

Reuben Hechanova, Director of New Projects (Housing)
Mission Housing Development Corp.

David Johnston, President
What's Working, LLC

Michelle Kaufmann AIA, LEED AP, Principal
Michelle Kaufmann Designs

Joseph Lstiburek, Principal
Building Science Corp.

Edward Mazria, AIA, Founder
Architecture 2030

John Wesley Miller, Founder
John Wesley Miller Companies

Northwest EcoBuilding Guild

Matt Petersen, President, CEO
Global Green USA

Bill Reed, AIA, LEED AP, President
Integrative Design Collaborative

Marc Richmond
Practica Consulting

Kevin Stack
Northeast Natural Homes

Ray Tonjes, Owner
Ray Tonjes Builder, Inc.

Alex Wilson, Founder, Executive Director
BuildingGreen LLC

The Hanley Award winner will be featured on the cover of the November issue of EcoHome magazine, along with full editorial coverage within the magazine and on EcoHome's Web site, In addition, the announcement about the inaugural award will be delivered to more than 360,000 professional builders, architects, and remodelers via Hanley Wood's extensive residential and commercial construction networks. The first Hanley Award will be presented in collaboration with the U.S. Green Building Council at the USGBC Hanley Award Dinner in November at the USGBC's annual Greenbuild International Conference and Expo in Phoenix.

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.