Posted in | News | Pollution | Recycling

Environmental Defense Fund Appreciates California’s Preliminary Draft Regulation

The California Air Resources Board (CARB) received appreciation for its preliminary draft regulation (PDR) by the Environmental Defense Fund. The preliminary draft regulation helps in designing a cap-and-trade program, as simultaneous measures, to reduce pollution caused by global warming, and the measures are formulated by the Environmental Defense Fund. The Global Warming Solutions Act expects to reduce pollution caused by global warming to 15 percent by the year 2020.

The cap-and-trade program of California will commence on 1 January, 2012. A cap-and-trade program was conducted in December 2008 after receiving an approval from the California Air Resources Board.

Swift and inexpensive pollution reducing measures are formulated by the cap-and-trade program. In the year 1990, the federal Clean Air Act initiated a cap-and-trade program that brought about a reduction in the emission of sulfur dioxide along with acid rain, about 20 to 30 percent, as predicted by the US Environmental Protection Agency.

The merits and demerits of different designs are projected by the preliminary draft regulation and stakeholder input from 21 public workshops and opinions from the public about the PDR will be collected and studied by CARD till mid January, 2010. In the spring of 2010, a Proposed Draft Regulation will be released to receive more comments from the public.

Director of the California Climate Initiative at Environmental Defense Fund, Derek Walker, remarks that the preliminary draft regulation developed by the California Air Resources Board will give rise to a number of environmental benefits and economic opportunities thus enabling California to successfully develop clean energy in the future.

Seven US states and four Canadian provinces under the Western Climate Initiative (WCI) will join with California’s cap-and-trade program in order to evolve a regional cap-and-trade market. The four provinces include: Ontario, British Columbia, Manitoba and Quebec. The seven US states part of this program include: Utah, Arizona, Montana, California, Oregon, Washington and New Mexico.


Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type
Azthena logo powered by Azthena AI

Your AI Assistant finding answers from trusted AZoM content

Azthena logo with the word Azthena

Your AI Powered Scientific Assistant

Hi, I'm Azthena, you can trust me to find commercial scientific answers from

A few things you need to know before we start. Please read and accept to continue.

  • Use of “Azthena” is subject to the terms and conditions of use as set out by OpenAI.
  • Content provided on any AZoNetwork sites are subject to the site Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
  • Large Language Models can make mistakes. Consider checking important information.

Great. Ask your question.

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.