Final List of Cities Competing in City Climate Leadership Awards Announced

Siemens and the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) today announced the 29 finalist cities competing in 10 categories for the initial City Climate Leadership Awards. The winners will be named at the Awards presentation event in London, at the Crystal on September 4, 2013.

The finalists identified are:

  • Africa:
    • Johannesburg, Lagos
  • Asia & Oceania:
    • Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh City, Melbourne, Seoul, Shanghai, Singapore, Tokyo
  • Europe::
    • Amsterdam, Barcelona, Berlin, Copenhagen, London, Munich, Oslo, Paris, Rotterdam, Stockholm
  • North America:
    • Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, San Francisco
  • South America:
    • Bogotá, Buenos Aires, Mexico City, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo

Awards categories:

  • Urban Transportation
  • Waste Management
  • Finance & Economic Development
  • Carbon Measurement & Planning
  • Sustainable Communities
  • Green Energy
  • Adaptation & Resilience
  • Energy Efficient Built Environment
  • Air Quality
  • Intelligent City Infrastructure

Details about the Awards event:

The inaugural Awards event is a two-day program to be held in London at the Crystal, a new London landmark and home to Siemens' sustainable cities initiative. The program consists of the Awards Ceremony on September 4, and a conference on September 5 gathering mayors, city planners, and urban sustainability experts to address some of the most pressing climate change and sustainability challenges of the day. In addition, the C40 will also be hosting a workshop with partners of the C40 Measurement & Planning Initiative including Siemens on September 6, bringing together European C40 Cities and technical experts for a workshop session about community-scale inventories and the Global Protocol for Community-scale Greenhouse Gas Emissions (GPC). This workshop is the first of many regional workshops to support local capacity building for measuring GHG emissions at the community scale using the GPC.

About the Awards competition:

The C40 & Siemens City Climate Leadership Awards will be granted annually in ten categories and will provide global recognition for C40 Cities that are demonstrating climate action leadership. Five award categories, including urban transportation, waste management and sustainable communities, are open to C40 cities only. Five other categories, including resilience, air quality and intelligent city infrastructure, are open both to C40 cities and the 120 cities in the Siemens and Economist Intelligence Unit research project "Green City Index" (GCI). An independent, seven-member judging panel consisting of former city Mayors, architects and representatives of the World Bank, C40 and Siemens will select the award winners.

Further information and facts and figures relation to the Sustainable Cities Week are available at:

For more information on the Awards and the projects of the nominated cities, go to:

For more information on the Green City Index, go to:

Follow us on Twitter:

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.